Situated on either side of Nickajack Creek and the famous Concord Covered Bridge are two unique homes that will be featured on the Historic District Tour of Homes this fall.
The Miller’s House and Grist Mill are on the National Register of Historic Places. The house was constructed circa 1850 and occupied in 1856 by the Martin L. Ruff family who ground wheat and corn at the gristmill for more than four decades. Today this handsome two-story residence, painted Prussian blue and trimmed in ivory with distinctive sage-green doors, commands 3.1 wooded acres on a promontory overlooking a bend of scenic Nickajack Creek.
Across the Creek is a very unique home on the Tour, The Gause House with its spectacular living room with a vaulted wood ceiling that ascends from 22 to a soaring 32-feet-high, under which is an elevated “piano loft”. This home’s distinctive arrow-shaped exterior with wrap-around balcony and Palladian-style French doors presages the delightful architectural quirks within, including a circular staircase, interior bridge, and views out onto the Concord Covered Bridge.
These unique properties, along with three other homes in the Historic District, will be part of a Tour of Homes event this fall. The two-hour guided tour, including transportation, will be held on Saturday, November 2nd and Sunday, November 3rd, with a limited number of tours conducted each day.
Hear the resonant narratives of these historic homes and learn more about the founders of this mill community of yesteryear by purchasing tickets for the Historic District Tour of Homes at: www.ConcordCoveredBridge.org/tourofhomes
Tickets are on sale NOW and only a few seats are left, so don’t miss your opportunity to experience this historic event.